IPCPR Legislative | Operating Your Business in Illinois

Operating Your Business in Illinois


Operating Your Business in Illinois

Anyone who is engaged in the business of a tobacco products distributor in Illinois must obtain a license from the Department of Revenue by filing an Illinois Business Registration Application (Form REG-1) and a Cigarette and Tobacco Products Information form (Form REG-1-C). There is no application fee, but distributors must file a bond equal to three times the company’s average monthly tobacco tax liability or $50,000, whichever is less. Beginning on January 1, 2016, all retailers of tobacco products in Illinois must obtain an annual license from the Department of Revenue for $75 per place of business. A single license will be issued by the Department if a person is both licensed as a distributor and retailer under the Tobacco Products Act (including a retailer who is deemed to be sufficiently licensed by virtue of his being properly licensed as a retailer under Section 4g of the Cigarette Tax Act).


35 Ill. Comp. Stat. 143/10-20
35 Ill. Comp. Stat. 143/10-21


Every distributor must also file a Tobacco Products Tax Return (Form TP-1) with the Department of Revenue on or before the 15th day of each month, along with payment for the taxes due.


35 Ill. Comp. Stat. 143/10-30


Localities may require additional business licenses.

Illinois Department of Revenue: Business Registration Forms


Form REG-1: Illinois Business Registration Application


Form REG-1-C: Cigarette and Tobacco Products Information


Tobacco Products Tax Forms Database


Form TP-1: Tobacco Products Tax Return


Form TP-1 Instructions

Questions? Comments? Interested in Getting Involved? Contact the IPCPR Legislative Team!
Thank You. We will contact you as soon as possible.